What's new

Car Novice Question: Will Autozone Comp Diagnostic give results if no dash lights on?

My car is having an issue where the RPM shots up, but the car doesn't move all the time. If I take my car to Autozone for a computer diagnostic, do you think it will give results without any oil lights being on? Well the question is DOES AUTOZONE comp test give results if there is no lights on?

I'm assuming you mean that your dashboard is not showing any "warning" lights (oil pressure, check engine, etc). I'm not an expert on the computer coding, but I believe the computer diagnostics simply read the code that produces the warning light. So I'm afraid that may not be an option. Of course, they don't charge for it, so it wouldn't hurt to give it a try (just your time).

So you're issue is that as you are sitting still, the engine revs up randomly but doesn't go anywhere?

Sometimes, the car's computer will throw a code without illuminating a warning light. It's rare, but it happens occasionally, so it'd be worth a look anyway. I doubt you'll find your problem that way however. My first thought is that you might have a vacuum leak somewhere.

Some stored trouble codes will not give a MIL(malfunction indicator lamp) aka engine light. Is this when it is trying to shift? Or when trying to move from a stop?

I'm assuming you mean that your dashboard is not showing any "warning" lights (oil pressure, check engine, etc). I'm not an expert on the computer coding, but I believe the computer diagnostics simply read the code that produces the warning light. So I'm afraid that may not be an option. Of course, they don't charge for it, so it wouldn't hurt to give it a try (just your time).

So you're issue is that as you are sitting still, the engine revs up randomly but doesn't go anywhere?