What's new

Severe rust after 3 days

just bought my first straight razor ... a Thiers-Issard Spartacas. I shaved about three days straight with it ... lightly coating in mineral oil each day. Then I put it in its case for three days rest after coating with mineral oil. After these three short days it is severely rusted ... I can see deep pits in the cutting edge and on the spine. It is far too bad to shave with or even for me to begin to attempt to clean it up. The rust pits are deep, and have gone far beyond cosmetic damage. This was in a motel so I don't know if the maid maybe splashed water on it while cleaning ... or left puddled water around the razor in its case ... but it was dry and rusted when I pulled it back out.

I am really shocked that such an expensive item can so deeply corroded in such a short period of time.

I don't have any reason to believe I was intentionally ripped off by the dealer, but I am new to this and am trying to sort out how this could have happened. I contacted the dealer I bought it from who ignored my questions on how it could have corroded so quickly and offered to restore it for over $70. I really don't want to sink an additional $70 into something so delicate especially since I live in a very humid place. Is this type of quick severe rusting normal in straight razors? Did I buy the wrong brand? a bad steel? could mine been some sort of quality defect from the factory? Could I have been duped with a cheap counterfeit knockoff? Any help or advice appreciated. Thanks!

Doesn't sound normal to me. I keep a fair few razors in my bathroom closet and haven't had any rust problems. I shave, then rinse the razor under HOT water for 10 seconds or so, wipe it dry on a towel and strop on denim for 5 laps then on leather for 20 and put the razor on the shelf. Never use oil except for long term storage or shipping. If someone got the box wet that could do it though.