What's new

replacement of Pelikan M800?

What's your budget? If you really enjoyed the 800, then I would replace it with another 800, but I would suggest one of the earlier ones with the gold disc on the blind cap (and one with a 14k nib if you can find one). I have one of the second generation ones with the gold disc, and I really like the look of the disc and Pelikan derby that came on those than any of the versions that came after that. It seems like they come up fairly regularly on auction sites, and the bidding usually ends at about $250. I think that the $250 range is reasonble for the 800, but do think the new retail price is a bit rediculous.

Thanks Justin. No budget really other than SWMBO restrictions. Paid $325 for a green M800 with gold disc. Liked it a lot.

I'll go hunting on the auction sites and agree that the new prices are just too much!

I'm actually in the market for an M800 (Green) or M805 Stresemann. I've been carrying a Namiki Falcon SF for a few years. I love it but I need more weight. Pro's and cons of the Pelikans?

Well the 800 is definitely heavier and is a fatter pen. I've owned both and imho, the Pelikan had a smother nib. The Pelikan is a piston filler too, which I prefer. The nib on the Falcon did have more spring to it though...I still own the Pelikan, but sold the Falcon.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
Are you looking for a source to replace your lost pen or an alternative to the M800? I'm not clear on your question.

Are you looking for a source to replace your lost pen or an alternative to the M800? I'm not clear on your question.
I wasnt really clear on that either, I thought you were adding a pen to the collection. If so do you like the size of the M800 ? I love my Aurora 88, as well as my Visconti Homo Sapiens

strop

Now half as wise