What's new

What straight razor to buy.

Hi I'm new to the wet shaving experience. I just recently made the switch from cartridge and electric shaving last week. I purchased a merkur 34c. All I can say is wow. Wish I would've made the switch a long time ago. I'm still struggling on my neck area and above my lip. Can't seem to get it right without knicking myself. So any advice would be appreciated.

Anyways, I started doing more research and I got really interested in straight razors. I first off want to get proficient with the DE before I purchase a SR. Well my question is what razor would you guys recommend for a beginner and fit under $150. Also what tools would you recommend for maintaining the SR. I know you have to strop and hone, but I'm not sure what I would need.

Thanks!

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Better to get two good vintage blades than one new one. Two razors give you something to shave with while one is either away being honed, or being your first honing attempt. www.whippeddog.com is our go-to guy here for cheap, shave-ready vintage razors. Some are pretty, some are not, but all are quality and all will shave when you get them.

If you insist on a new razor, many here will recommend a Ralf Aust. I have not tried one. But I can personally recommend a Dovo Bismarck or a Dovo of the same profile without the gold wash and fancy pants scales, or a new Boker King Cutter. Or a nice 6/8 shoulderless from Revisor. They have a huge selection on their website and many will fall within your budget.