What's new

A noobs first lather results from MWF

I'm a noob to soaps, I've only tried a soap my friend made & gave me, and I've used that 3-4 times.
However my MWF was delivered today and I just had to try lathering it although I won't be shaving until morning.

Did I do it right? I immersed my badger brush in water for a few seconds, then used the brush to get the puck wet, then without waiting I loaded the brush for maybe 30 seconds, and since I was getting a lather in the bowl I transferred to my mug and spent another 30 seconds building a lather. It wasn't any harder than using my TOBS cream. My lather might need more water I suppose, but I was blown away by how easy it seemed to me. My water doesn't seem very soft to me btw
$20151007_175626.jpg
$20151007_175735.jpg
$20151007_175956.jpg

Looks good to me; how did it feel? If you were satisfied with how it felt then you are on the right track. Most soaps take a bit of "dialing in" to get the lather desired.

Looks good to me; how did it feel? If you were satisfied with how it felt then you are on the right track. Most soaps take a bit of "dialing in" to get the lather desired.
It felt nice and creamy, much better than my TOBS, Castle Forbes cream, and my friends soap.

I'm sorry to say, that lather doesn't look shave ready for me. Not thick or creamy enough and could probably use some more product. MWF seems to work best with a drier brush and slowly incorporate water, at least for me.

Bottom line, if it works for you, that's all that matters.

Last edited:

rockviper

I got moves like Jagger
My MWF lather gets more water and doesn't have peaks, but I straight shave a fair bit. Given that this is lather-1 from a new puck, it looks pretty good. Feed the puck with a dribble of water every night and watch that baby expand. Loading will be a breeze, but it looks like you didn't have too much trouble right out of the gate. :thumbup1: