What's new

Newbie str8/DE help

Hi everyone. Another newbie here who's been checking you guys out for a while and decided to jump in and say hello. The thing I like about B & B is that you seem to be open minded to all types of shaving and I'm having trouble choosing the best route to take. After years of cartridge and electric razors, I got myself a Merkur progress. Then thought s*d it, go the whole hog and get a straight. Bought a dovo which i now know wasn't shave ready so bought a ready honed Kropp which was way better. Love the whole straight shavong thing but I can't seem to keep them sharp enough and.........even my shave ready Kropp (which was good) didn't and still doesn't come close to the shave I get every time from the Merkur. Is it just me? Should I give up the straights and stick to the DE? Or do you guys think it's worth persevering with the straights??

I'd love to use a str8 one day but what keeps me off is the stropping & honing part. You however already own a str8 so don't give up! Have it honed by a pro.

You'rer not wrong - it's a lot of effort, but if the result is worth it I don't mind spending the time. The Kropp I got was ready honed and stropped and was really nice, but I'm still not sure it's ever going to give as good a shave as the merkur. That thing just glides over my face. Trouble is I'm spending a fortune trying to get the str8's as sharp as the DE and I'm not convinced it's ever gonna work!