What's new

Need help identifying vintage stone

Gentlemen,

I am a newbie to honing and I have acquired a light brown stone 8" x 1 7/8" x 1" that has two of it's edges ground on an angle. It is a hard, smooth stone that will ring like a bell when struck. I would be very appreciative if someone can help me identify the type of stone and the purpose of the ground edges.

Attachments

• $DSC00324.JPG
    $DSC00324.JPG
    106 KB · Views: 111
  • $DSC00321.JPG
    $DSC00321.JPG
    123.6 KB · Views: 111

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker
Hello and welcome.
My guess, from the hip, would be a washita. If you want to clean it up let it soak over night in simple green...you'll be surprised what it looks like the next day.

Hello and welcome.
My guess, from the hip, would be a washita. If you want to clean it up let it soak over night in simple green...you'll be surprised what it looks like the next day.

+1 to Davids word....it looks mostly like a Washita type

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker
The ground edges could be chip repairs, which is not uncommon for natural stones.

Could be an old, yellowed lily white. My experience has been that Simple Green is very effective in removing standing oil and swarf to arrive at the matrix surface with with the least amount of effort. The price is that it raises the surface grain of the stone.

This being the case, you may want to lap the honing surface to around 400x-600x to smooth it. Then slap some fresh oil on that thing and make it whistle!

Last edited:
Would 600 wet or dry on a polished marble tile be an appropriate approach to lapping the stone?

Last edited: