What's new

Temporary lens trade

Hello all,

I am taking a vacation in September and would like to try a low F/stop prime lens for my trip. I don't want to buy yet, as I have no experience with primes. I also do not wish to rent one, because that's typically a good bit of money that can be used for purchasing one, in the event I like prime lenses. I am looking for anybody who has a low (2.0 or lower) flat F/Stop lens that is around 50mm, that is willing to trade for roughly two weeks (my trip is September 9-22). The only lens I have for trade, and at all, is my kit 18-55 Nikon lens. My camera is the Nikon D3300 DX.

All the best,
Brian

I agree with Alpster completely. In fact, either the 50mm 1.8 or 35mm 1.8 will do you nicely. My personbal preference is the 35mm for the extra width but both are fantastic, fast primes with really nice bokeh! Don't think about it, just get one.

That 35mm 1.8 Nikkor lens is the best buy in the Nikon DX hutch. JMHO! It's fast, clear, and very sharp.

On a DX camera the view you see through the lens is the close to the view you see with your eyes. You can focus very, very close to your subject. The real trick to prime lens work is moving your body to/from the subject.

It's been, or a lens like it (50mm for 35mm film), my favorite lens for over fifty years.

It might be hard to convince someone to trade your kit lens for their prime. I know you don't want to rent but it might be the only option if you want to try it out before you buy it. Lensrentals.com has the 35 1.8 for 29 dollars for 4 days.

As others have mentioned the 50 1.8 and 35mm 1.8 are great and wont disappoint for the price.

I only have old F mount non-ai Nikon lenses. I think they would mount on your camera, however they are manual focus and you will not be able to use automatic metering. I actually think all I have available is a 50mm. I have a much more extensive Canon FD collection that I inherited from my Grandfather.