What's new

Different Styles of shaving guys

KeenDogg

Slays On Fleek - For Rizz
Are there guys out there that just go for the finest shaving things or guys that go for the average things as far as collections go? I'd like to consider myself a blue collar kind of guy and I am gravitating toward old spice mugs and ever-ready brushes, for example. Thoughts?

I feel that I fit into the "working class" or "blue collar" category...mostly because I am indeed working class...

In being working class I have had to purchase tools ( I am a machinist) and I learned early on to "cry once" when buying tools. Meaning go ahead and get the good stuff, not the fancy stuff with useless bells and whistles, but the good stuff that will last you a lifetime (and often has a lifetime warranty). If you buy the cheap stuff, yeah, you have it for now but it may not perform as well or it could break after a couple of uses wherein you will have to buy (cry) again, possibly creating an endless cycle of replacing said tool.Or when the cheap stuff breaks you end up buying the good stuff and have wasted your money on garbage.

My point being: I don't feel I need the fanciest shaving gear but I'll be sure to get something that is of good ( not "okay", not "decent" but good or better) quality. I like the vintage stuff and may eventually end up with some but I don't see a need to(personally) have "collection" of shaving paraphernalia just like I don't see a need for me to have a collection of toenail clippers or toilet plungers they are tools that serve a single specific purpose and that is all.