What's new

XTG on neck issues

Every single time I shave across the grain on my neck it always results in cuts or razor burn. Any advice?

Advice? Don't do it, nothing says you have to XTG the neck area. I found my face I can do WTG then XTG but my neck has to be WTG both times. Actually slightly diagonal due to the growth pattern but never XTG or ATG on the neck just too much irritation and not worth it.

-Stephen

Advice? Don't do it, nothing says you have to XTG the neck area. I found my face I can do WTG then XTG but my neck has to be WTG both times. Actually slightly diagonal due to the growth pattern but never XTG or ATG on the neck just too much irritation and not worth it.

-Stephen

thanks that's what I was kind of thinking! Appreciate the advice

a Parker 99r with shark blades

As stated you don't have to do it, I have been using straights for many months now and have tried various ways and still can't seem to get that BBS shave on my neck so I get the best I can and live irritation free.

Your original post mentioned across the grain.

I don't have much luck with across the grain until I've first gone with, then against the grain.

I follow these up with a bit of blade buffing against the grain, and the results are consistently good, pain-free and nick-free.

As has been mentioned, you don't have to preform all of the standard passes. Just do two WTG passes on the neck and see what happens. :001_smile