What's new

Neck irritation after workout

So I've been doing this for a few months now and I'm starting to get the hang of it. If I concentrate, I can get a good close shave on my neck without irritation.

Every weekday I wake up, shave without showering, dress, and go to the gym. After the gym I shower and go to work. The trouble I'm having is that the sweat from exercising brings out the neck irritation. After all my hard work I look like I just scraped a CVS disposable back and forth.

I've been trying a number of products, both after the shave and after the workout. I thought a creamy lotion like Nivea would do the trick. It reduces the burning sensation but not the redness nor the bumps .*

Any advice?

[*] Good thing I don't have enough cred for a custom title, huh? :smile:

I also sometimes feel the effects of a workout on my shave. My recommendation is to try to shave after working out. I would urge you not to get special products to battle issues that could potentially be avoided by a small change in your routine.

Good luck!

Best - MM

The same thing used to happen to me. For a while I managed to drag myself out of bed early enough to do my workout before I showered, but I'm not really much of a morning person. What's worked for me is moving the workout routine until right before lunch, so my neck has a few hours time to close up and rest beforehand (though you might not have that luxury).

Out of curiosity, do you use any witch hazel or an alum block? I don't (yet), but I always wondered if using them right after the shave would help some.

Good luck with whatever solution you try!

Right now I'd rather not reorder the routine because I take a class in the morning. Putting off shaving until after exercising means commuting (gym is at work) with an itchy, scruffy face, and it means I'll get to work about 1/2 hour later. Not to mention carrying the badger and blade nestled against my sweaty socks.