What's new

Thick flat laying hair. Maybe needs a new razor?

I have been shaving with a DE razor for about 2 years now. Ever since I started I have struggled with the hair on my neck and chin. The hair grows from my chin to the ear and flat against the skin. It also grows really think. It can stop a feather blade its tracks. This is a combination of the hair being thick and laying flat against the skin.

The first 2 passes cannot reduce the hair to the point where I can’t go against or even somewhere between across and against the grain. The first 2 passes being with and across the grain. Also tried across the grain and across the grain in the other direction. After the first 2 passes the blade stick or stop the blade for pass 3.If I try to pull the blade will skip and give me a lot of nicks. I have tried stopping at 2 passes but it not close at all and girlfriend says it feels like a brillo pad.

I have done a lot to make the hair easier to cut. I do Kyles prep for at least 5 minutes after a long hot shower. I have use pre shave oil after Kyles prep. I also bought a Semogue boar hair brush. I have tried many different types of soaps (my favorite being cold river soap works). I have tried different blade including feather, kai, and persona labs.

It seems like the only I have yet to do is use a different razor. My current razor is an Edward Jagger DE89L. Any suggestions? I am at a point where I don’t know what else to do.

It sounds like you have tried about everything that I can think of. Perhaps a new razor is in order. The EJ DE89 is a relatively mild razor, even with a Feather. If you have been DE shaving for two years, your technique might be up to handling a Muehle R41. It is legendary for being an aggressive razor.

Have you tried cold water shaving? In my experience cold water (cold lather, cold razor) causes my whiskers to stand up a little more.