What's new

Head Shaving

What do you know about it? What suggestions do you have? What have your learned? Be it DE, Shavette or straight.

I've only done DE and number 1 is patience is key. Don't use the same technique as a cartridge razor. by that I mean don't use anywhere the same amount of pressure. Let the blade do the work and as you would with your beard. Map the hair growth and take it easy near the ears. That's about it.

I started with clippers, moved to carts, then on to DEs. My DEs have gotten more and more aggressive, and I'm pretty close to using my Parker SR1 barber razor, but haven't yet. The DE isn't really much different from a cart. If you're already used to the DE on your face, moving to your head takes a week or so to get comfortable with, then it's easy.

I've been shaving my head with clippers for about the last 15 years. I had it shaved a few times in India a few years ago when travelling there, but only just started shaving it myself about a month ago. At this point I was about five months into shaving with a straight, having mostly used Sensor cartridges previously (I used an electric for a few years while in my teens, but never had much love for it).

My first head shave was with my Feather AC SS shavette, which demolished a couple weeks worth of growth with ease. I had to touch it up with my cartridge though, as despite not cutting myself I found it hard to do the back of my head just above the neck.