What's new

Complete and total newbie

Alright, so without getting into too much of a sob story. Raised by a single mom, taught myself to shave, currently use a Gilette Fusion proglide and shave AGAINST the grain. I use Edge shave gel. No after shave. No facial cleanser. Just hot water and that gel. Well, I never get a clean shave and I'm planning on joining the Navy, which means I need a close, perfect shave everyday of the week, so its time for a change!

So far, with my research, I've narrowed it down to two (but I'm open to suggestions) to the Baxter of California Safety Razor, or the Merkur 34C.

Now, as far as blades, brush, bowl, shaving cream, and anything else I need....I'm lost. I found little to no help in the way of these items to help in deciding.

So....help? Please?

Edit: And because it seems to matter, I do have rather coarse facial hair. It can get very thick if I let it grow, but this will be meant for clean shaving daily. My current gillete does give me razor burn (and I only shave about once a week because, well, laziness), so I do believe I have sensitive skin.

Last edited:
Welcome to the club. Glad to have you aboard. The best advice I can give is to invest in one of the starter sets from one of our vendors here on B&B. They will contain everything you need to get started in shaving. Garry's Sample Shop is one of those vendors, and he has helped many beginners. After that, I recommend reading the stickies at the top of this forum, reading articles in the Wiki, and watching YouTube videos by Mantic59 and others for demonstrations of traditional shaving.

Hello and welcome to B&B. Great to have you here. Wander on over to the Hall of Fame and introduce yourself.

Excellent advice below. Contact Garry. He'll fix you up.