What's new

Cheap fountain pens that don't suck at all.

Legion

Staff member
A week or so back I impulse bought myself a Parker Urban Premium fountain pen. I have no idea why, except the deal was good, and I use a Urban premium ballpoint at work, and really like it.

I have to say I am impressed by this pen. It cost me all of $22 + postage, and the fit and finish are good, it looks nice. It writes smoothly, starts up as soon as the nib hits the paper, doesn't really skip. Seems like an absolute bargain for anybody wanting a beater fountain pen that they can carry and not worry about too much.

It also came with a convertor, so I can use it with my favourite bottled inks.

proxy.php

Does anybody else have any recommendations?

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member
I'm pretty new to the nib world, but I would suggest the Pilot Metropolitan, Lamy Safari, Jinhao x450, or a bunch of various vintage pens that sell for cheap, but work great. I have a fairly limited experience with fountain pens, but I just wanted to give you a few suggestions until some of the other more knowledgeable members chime in.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
Nice pen, David. I'm not sure I could handle that step-down to the section rubbing against my middle finger, though. I've heard they write great so I'm sure I'll try one someday.

One pen I really think of as a true bargain user pen is the Pilot 78G

I use the Hero 616 that come in 10 packs on E-bay. My father said he grew up using them when he was in school in the People's Republic of China and I use them for marking my undergrad students' papers (I reserve my Yard-o-Led for my personal correspondence) but I think I paid $40 for 30 of these pens (aerometric filled). Once in a while they may need tweaking but the deal is too good to mind! Plus, I give away 2 or 3 to my students each quarter as a 'farewell' at the end of term.