What's new

What was relaxing is now a bloody mess and ruins my day.

I have been de shaving for at least 10 years. I find De shaving relaxing and quite enjoyable. I have been trying to use a feather artist club japanese straight and it has been nothing but a nightmare. I know I am new at this, but with my de I learned the feather blade was not for me a long time ago and moved on to the personna med prep. This is only my 5th shave or so with this razor and it just puts me in a foul mood for the rest of the day. I dont even cut myself when I am moving the razor. It is when all is going well and i rinse the blade then go to put it back on my face and slice. Just touching it to my face gives me a cit. No movement nothing. Then I have to wait several days for the cuts to heal and then same damn thing happens again. Maybe it is the feather blades as I really cant stand them in my de or maybe it is just me, but something has to change or I am going to throw the damn thing away as it ruins my whole day.

I know exactly what you mean. It's very frustrating.

I believe the first problem is that shaving with a straight is just not that ergonomic. Let's face it, a straight was designed for a barber to shave the customer. The learning curve is much steeper than with a DE.

I'm also sure I would have a problem with the sharpness of a Feather blade. In my Parker SR1, I do better with a Shark or Derby blade than a Feather.

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker
The AC is a tough razor to use. A really light touch and a very steep angle are required. (for me at least). A traditional straight is much more forgiving and easier to use IMO.
When I have trouble with something I find it helps to put it away for a month or so and then come back to it.
Good luck

I have a custom straight on order, but thinking I might want to get a cheap straight to try and learn on vs this dang feather. I was doing well and pretty excited about the shave then wham a cut.

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker