What's new

crazy tough beard need razor reccomendation

Hello all,
Been straight shaving about 6 months and have definately jumped in deep. I have a great set up for honing and have done some restoration. I have a serious beard that grows quickly. It is definately a tough coarse beard and facial hair. Combined with sensitive skin it has been trial and error on what razors work. So far the best shave i get is with a 7/8 barber king wusthof. Any other reccomendations for razors would be appreciated. I prefer a square point or barbers notch so i dont lose the crispness of my line around my beard amd it seems like 6/8 7/8 are do a better job for me. I also personally prefer a heavier razor in my hand. I am a chef by trade and a knife junkie so i am no stranger to sharp and pointy (bevel, bevel creation, sharpening/honing and blade geometry and angles) There has been a little learning curve for me when it comes to razors but honing and stropping has come pretty easily. I have been doing my restoration by hand which has been tedious but also pretty zen for me. I start with 100 or 180 depending and move up by 100 grit the first few jumps then 200 grit. Once i hit 1000 grit i go to 15 to 2 to 25 to 3 to 5 and finish with mothers. I woud prefer to pick up an older razor and finish it myself as it is much cheaper then buying new or restored already. I have a fairly old from what i understand gottlieb hammsfaehr. 2 interlocked circles emblem wedge that i am currently working on and have high hopes for. It is my first wedge. Any advice on that as well would be appreciated.

Last edited:
I see that your kinda new here.
I say get yourself a Wade & Butcher For Barbers Use and get it honed by Doc226. Have him put one of his Jnat edges on it, you'll love it!

I am in a similar boat as you. I have been using a Hart 6/8 for the past nine months and haven't looked back. Melts the tough beard with a JNat edge and is the most comfortable razor I have tried to date.