What's new

saving money with DE shaving ?

So I returned-to DE shaving in part because of the ridiculously High priced cartridge razors out there So now after four brushes, and four creams and soaps, two razors and hundreds of blades in six months , tell me exactly how am I saving money ? Lol

You are saving money in the long run.
Very long run let's say for the next five years .
If stop buying now indeed...
:)

I'm saving money. The only thing I am doing differently since I returned to a DE is buying double edge blades instead of carts. I have been using a brush and soap, along with AS for over 45 years.

Want to save money? Stop buying stuff you don't need. Banish all ADs. Become a minimalist.

Before I started DE, I used one cream and one brush and expensive Fusion cartridges. Then I got into DE shaving and used DE blades that cost perhaps 1/20th as much. And then I decided I liked it and started hanging out here and learned about all the brushes and razors and soaps and creams and preps and there went the savings. We are our own worst enemies.

I, too, started DE shaving to save money. It truly is possible to save money, but many of us just get that jones to get another razor, more soap etc. and the notion of saving money goes out the window. So far this year I have spent $225-$250 on shaving. I don't drink...I don't smoke...I don't do drugs, so I don't feel too guilty for my indulgence in shaving.

This hobby is my only vice. As others have said, it could be hobbies that are much more expensive. I have one to two beers at the most, each week. I gave up my cigar smoking hobby, I don't smoke cigarettes, and I don't collect guns, anymore. I don't collect the expensive razors. I have many inexpensive ones, as well as a growing collection of razor blades. Also, the brushes I have are not expensive, and I only have around 5.
But, I will say, this site is full of enablers. Not the place to be if you want to limit yourself.