What's new

Binoculars for Alaskan Cruise

I am going on a cruise to Alaska and will be in need of some binoculars for the trip. Since I will buying at least 2 pairs to share amongst the family, and they will see little use other than special occasions like trips, I don't want to spend a lot of money. I am thinking $225 per pair?

Given this restriction, does anybody have any recommendations? I am also interested in opinions on what would be a good magnification and objective lens size.

Thanks,

Bob

Mike H

Instagram Famous
I bought a pair of Orion 8X42 a few months ago. They are a mid size easy to hold, 8X magnification, waterproof, and fully multicoated.
http://www.telescope.com/Binoculars...roof-Binoculars/pc/-1/c/5/sc/390/p/113097.uts

I highly recommend them, but I am pretty new to the binocular scene. I also own a pair of Celstron 10X50, but I like the Orion much better, especially for star gazing. Images are crisper, and I can hold them steady. I also the Orion for birding and plan on using it for hunting.

Last edited:
10x50 are common, but I prefer 8x40s for carrying as they are lighter. I also have a pair of 15x70's which make the moon look spectacular but they are heavy and are usually only used on a tripod.

If you are getting two, perhaps one 10x50 and one 8x40

Celestrons are a decent, affordable brand name, well within your price range.

Vortex Diamondback. Doesn't matter what happens to them, if you break them they will fix them.
I'd recommend an 8x42 and a 10x50 if you are wanting 2 pair.

Are you primarily looking for wildlife? Stars? Bikinis on other boats? Do you think you will hold them a long time? Do you wear glasses (eye relief a concern?)
Will you have access to/make use of a tripod? Will you spend a lot of time holding them? The decisions will include:
* Roof or porro prism
* magnification
* field of view
* eye relief offered
* weight.