What's new

First Run with Semogue 620

I'm new to wet shaving at only about 2.5 months in. The addiction has it's claws buried deep already though.

My first brush was a Parker Pure Badger BCPB. A nice enough brush, one that a noob can easily generate a sufficient lather with. But as I experimented with harder soaps, I wanted something with a little more backbone.

I then purchased an Omega Pro 48. A decent brush. I worked hard to break that guy in for about a month. I soaked it in dish soap, then lathered it every day and let it set overnight for a week before I used it. About 3 weeks later it has become what I'd consider at this point in the game a "useable" brush, but I wasn't terribly happy with it. It wasn't until I happened across an old thread on this site about the differences between a Semogue 620 and 830 that I realized why.

I'm a face latherer, and I learned in that thread that there are specific brushes that are made to work better for that task. The angle of the bristles and the amount of bristles that make it to the surface are important factors to consider when purchasing a shave brush. So I purchased the Semogue 620.

My life has been changed forever.

I soaked the Semogue in dish soap and hot water for a few hours yesterday evening. Then I lathered it up with DR Harris Arlington (one of my favorite soaps and scents so far) to let it sit overnight. I was very impressed with how soft it was at this point without losing any of its backbone, but still didn't expect to use it until later next week.