What's new

It arrived, my summons to JURY DUTY

garyg

B&B membership has its percs
Never a good time, but one of our obligations as citizens. I've been called three times in over 40 years of being an adult on the voting rolls. First time, early 70's, I went down and was dismissed summarily in a civil case as I was a law student at the time. Second time, dismissed for cause (had formed an opinion about the case). Third time, no challenges from either side. Short criminal trial, real short deliberation, had to stand up and deliver the guilty verdict. We didn't know prior acts of course, that three time loser went away for life.

Boils down to whether it is a local or federal call and what type of case. Lost a guy to one of the first asbestos litigation's for almost a year

Lots of waiting the first day, take a book, our courthouse doesn't allow cameras, so long walk back to the car to ditch the cellphone. Funny watching the cell-less in the jury pool trying to figure out what to do with their time sans electronic pacifyers ..

Are you being called to a Petit Jury, or a Grand Jury? City, County, State, or Federal?

The rules and regulations vary greatly depending on what jurisdiction you live in. There is a good chance that just because you are summoned, you may not need to serve. You call a phone number the night before to see if your Juror Number is on the list that is needed to report the next day.

Read the summons carefully. There may be a website mentioned that will have an FAQ.

Jury Duty is not hard to get out of if you can prove that being there will be a hardship. If you will lose a day's pay sitting there, that's a hardship. If you are a caretaker for a family member that can't do without you for a day, that qualifies. If you are in certain professions, that will disqualify you. So will having a criminal record.