What's new

Thoughts on Pre-Shave

OK, I am a recovering engineer, so bear with me. Remember anything worth thinking about is worth over-thinking (especially on B&B!).

I'm a little puzzled about pre-shave treatments. I have read about all sorts of lotions and potions being used for this, and even applying same between passes. Some recommend leaving a substantial amount on the face before applying lather from shaving soap/cream, essentially mixing them together

If this is done to provide additional lubrication: If one has a good-performing soap/cream, why is this needed?

If done to hydrate/soften the beard: is it really necessary, if one just uses [gasp] a lot of water to do that? After a hot shower and shampoo, it seems to me that one's face/beard are very well hydrated.

Back in the days when I used a Mach3 (may it rest in peace) and shaving was a chore, I just washed my face, rinsed and left it wet, and applied the lather and shaved.

Then, enter B&B...and all the aspects of "traditional" shaving. And suddenly aware of the rituals of this activity -- and sub-rituals like "pre-shaves" -- I jumped right in.

I really didn't want to apply another complex unknown substance to my facial skin before scraping it with a blade. So, after some (over)thought, I opted to use Noxzema, something that's been around for years, and with which I was familiar -- and liked!

Then I saw that someone posted a video of a barber just lathering up the shavee with the shaving soap to be used and applying a hot towel, then wiping any residue and then lathering and shaving as usual. That led me to this: I wash my face and re-lather with that soap (Tom's of Maine Sensitive Natural Beauty Bar Soap with Soothing Chamomile) and leave that lather on for a while.

Both of these methods employ massaging the substance into the beard, and then applying a hot wet towel. When I am ready to lather up with shave soap, there really is no visible residue.