What's new

First time DE shave

Hello all, my name is Matt. Today was my first time shaving with a double edge razor. I have been using an electric razor for about 3 years now. I have a Maggard MR6, an Omega 13564 brush, Proraso White shaving cream, and RazoRock Mister Joe pre shave soap.

Well, let's just say things didn't go as planned. I used Derby-Extra blades, didn't apply pressure (I think), tried to get the right angle (30 deg) and started WTG. Boy did I bleed and there's plenty of stubble left. The styptic pen worked great though.

First off, my lather was NOT good, even after it started turning pink. If my face stops burning, I'll give it another go tomorrow. I'll continue with Derby blades and no pressure, letting the weight of the razor do the work, but I will spend more time making lather.

Those Youtube videos make it look so easy.

(What have I gotten my self into?) :laugh:

Welcome, and sorry your first go was so troublesome. You might want to let your face heal for an extra day before you shave again. If you're coming from an electric shaver you will need to take it easy and learn about your beard growth directions. Try and shave with the grain of your beard for your first tries and a little left over stubble is no biggie.

I had used cartridges for a long time so using a DE razor was not so bad for me, but I'm still a beginner too so I just take it one shave at a time. The good news is that you got that styptic pencil all figured out ;-)

Mr Eleven

Thanks guys. Thanks for the links too. The wiki link didn't work directly, but I found the wiki index and will do some more reading.

I'm also going to try a hot towel on the face after the preshave soap wash.