What's new

Pencil Reccomendations

I have been carrying a Sheaffer 100 in matte black and nickel for about a year. I love this pen, however there are times when a fountain pen just won't do. I'm an amateur musician, and sometimes, I just need a pencil.

I'd like to pick up a pencil that it's in a comparable price range, or around $30-$50. I'd prefer it use standard lead refills. It needs to look handsome in a shirt pocket, along side my 100. .5 is ideal, but .7 is acceptable. Built in eraser is a a bonus, but not an absolute necessity.

I know Sheaffer makes a .7 pencil in the 100 line, but I can never find it solo. It's usually paired with a ball-point pen, and I don't really have need of a ball-point. I exclusively use fountain pens or roller balls.

Any ideas? Thanks!

when you said matte black, I thought of Lamy. the 2000 pencil is at the top of you price range (if not a little over), but the Lamy Scribble is within you price range. Both are matte black with palladium colored furniture.

Also with the Scribble, you can get one that takes normal sized .7 mm lead, or one that uses massive 3.15mm lead....the big one might be better for jotting quick music notes....

Both the 2000 and the scribble would look quite nice next to my 100.

That 3mm lead is massive! But I see what you are saying. It's not exactly what I am looking for, but I can remember times when I am trying to use a .5 or .7 clicker and get a note down before we move on. No issues with that one. I might have to re-think it.

Or I could always get 2! ;) The 3mm for music and .7/.5 for general use.

rockviper

I got moves like Jagger
Kuru-Toga.

I picked up the black for myself and an orange one (I think :blush: ) for my niece a few years ago. The rotating tip ensures the lead always provides a nice clean point.

$S55.jpgHow about the Pentel S55

This guy keeps showing up on the recommended links.

http://smile.amazon.com/Pentel-Mech..._sim_op_4?ie=UTF8&refRID=0TF0PZ0QKVB5RRK2VK8Z