What's new

Muhle Genuine Horn Handle issue

Hi everyone,

I am new to this form and have read many of the existing posts on care and maintenance of horn handles. I noticed after using my new Muhle buffalo horn brush twice they are some slight cracks around what appears to be the natural rings in the horn. Since this is my first horn brush I was wondering if this is normal? I could have sworn they weren't there when I unboxed it.

Also it seems these brushes are pretty rare, I couldn't even find a photo of the base of it online to compare! Here is mine, the cracks protrude slightly so you can feel them when you run your fingers along the base.

$IMG_2688.jpg
Just a few notes, I did not submerge the entire handle in the water, just the hairs. I also used warm water and not very hot water.

Lastly I just want to mention how helpful and polite everyone is on this forum, I have read many posts after taking up wet shaving and you all have helped me learn a lot! If only every forum was like this!

From my understanding those fissures are quite normal for horn handles. You can treat that with Neatsfoot oil to keep the horn hydrated and stabilized. Good luck.

When I ran into the same situation with my Romera horn brush, I applied three coats of (pure) neatsfoot oil and then a coat of Renaissance Wax. Several people (woodworkers) told me that this is the best protection available. If you use only the neatsfoot oil, you'll want to reapply it annually. I'm not sure how long the Renaissance wax is supposed to last.