What's new

Pre-soaking Badgers

I have just recently purchased a few badgers and used each one once. I am new to badger brushes. What's the proper/acceptable method of soaking (if any)? I know Boar is approximately 5 minutes prior and synthetic is 1-2 seconds. Am I correct in soaking for 1-2 minutes prior to use? I.E., half the time of a boar?

Thanks Gentlemen!

Peace!

It won't matter how long you soak the brush (badger hair won't absorb water they way in which boar hair does), but allowing the water to enter the knot is the point of soaking the brush. It may take you a few tries to work out how much water to shake out of the brush before you start lathering, but it is easy enough to add a few more drops if your brush is too dry...

Just be careful that the water is not hot and don't soak the whole knot and handle as well.

It won't matter how long you soak the brush (badger hair won't absorb water they way in which boar hair does), but allowing the water to enter the knot is the point of soaking the brush. It may take you a few tries to work out how much water to shake out of the brush before you start lathering, but it is easy enough to add a few more drops if your brush is too dry...

Just be careful that the water is not hot and don't soak the whole knot and handle as well.

So basically, you are saying I can treat it the same as a synthetic: 1-2 seconds in warm water, shake it a bit and start whipping up product. I am very careful with the water level and saturating the knot/glue.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I have just recently purchased a few badgers and used each one once. I am new to badger brushes. What's the proper/acceptable method of soaking (if any)? I know Boar is approximately 5 minutes prior and synthetic is 1-2 seconds. Am I correct in soaking for 1-2 minutes prior to use? I.E., half the time of a boar?

Thanks Gentlemen!

Peace!

30-45 seconds under hot water, shake, and go

I soak my boar brush while showering.