What's new

Before and After - Kropp and King's Great Rex

These were posted in my antique store finds but it's been suggested that they would be served better in a new thread. As much as I've tried, I can't figure out how to delete the old threads. It seems like once you post a thread on here, you only have a limited time to edit or delete it and then it stays for all eternity or until an admin is able to do something with it. If an admin or someone can show me how to delete an old thread, I'd be happy to do so.

These are recent restorations and all of the credit goes to Mark, know as "MyCarver" on the forums. The man is a true wizard when it comes to restoration and these photos are just more proof of that wizardry.

Admittedly, I'm a noob when it comes to straight razors. The vast majority of the time, I don't know what's good and what isn't. When I first looked at the Kropp, I didn't buy it because I though it wasn't repairable. A rounded toe is something that I hadn't seen before and I'd thought that someone might have attempted to previously restore it, snapped the tip and then tried to make the best of it (feel free to laugh, it's ok).

After posting the Antique Store finds thread, Mark told me that the razor was fine and that it would come right up. He is, as I think most of us are, a fan of personalized inscriptions on razors. He told me that he'd like to have the razor, so I went and got it and we came to a nice agreement where he would give me a discount on the work I was having done in exchange for it. Of course, I happily agreed and incidentally, he was EXTREMELY kind in the valuation of the discount for the work.