What's new

Good evening Gentlemen.greetings from a Brit now living in Canada

I just wanted to introduce myself to the members here at B&B. I a complete newbie to wet shaving, and stumbled across this forum when I was researching ways get a clean shave and curb bumbs and rashes that appear from my current way of shaving, using supermarket Gillette and Bic shavers, as well as the goop in the cans.

I have to shave everyday for my job unfortunately, and I also have sensitive skin. My question for your wise ones and long term wet shavers is as follows:

- For a complete novice like me looking to get into the wet shaving using creams and soap, which list of basic newbie tools would you recommend for me to buy from stores or online from ebay?

- I don't have long beard or anything i.e. am not a bushy type

- Which aftershaves care with no alcohol that will dry my face do you suggest?

Sincerely

Welcome to B&B. Glad that you joined us. As far as shave gear. . . there are sooooooooo many shave items to choose that it
is almost impossible to select for you. However, I will give you a "to go" list and remember: YMMV... your mileage
may vary which means "what works for one will not work for another".

Razor (modern): Edwin Jagger 89L, Merkur 34C

Razor (vintage): Gillette Super Speed, Gillette Tech, Gillette Slim

Blade: Astra SP, Feather (sharp but great blade), Polsilver Super Iridium, Gillette Silver Blue, Crystal, Voskhod

Soap: Mike's Natural Soap, TIKI Bar Soap, Mystic Water Soap, Cella, Speick, RazoRock

Cream: C.O. Bigelow (you can get this at your local Bath and Body Works), Taylor of Old Bond Street

Brush: Any Semogue brushes

Aftershaves: Osage Rub (if you love the menthol burn and tingling), FINE Aftershaves, Captain's Choice

Again... welcome to B&B. Enjoy your journey. I know I am.

WARHAWK

Hello and welcome here. Great to have you on board. Wander on over to the Hall of Fame and introduce yourself.

Razor
Badger brush from Whipped Dog
Unscented cream