What's new

New Guy In Town. Astra SP. Bad Idea!

So, i'm new to the game of "wet shaving" as i've used a Phillips Arc 4 electric for the past 3 years and before that other various electrics since 2004. A few weeks ago I decided to dive into wet shaving and see what it was really all about... So, I went on an interwebs binge and purchased various shaving tools, soaps, blades and aftershaves..

-Merkur 38c "barber pole" DE razor
-Crux DE razor
-Caties Bubbles LPV - This must have pepper in it!
-Plisson Original shave brush ( I was in NYC with my wife on Valentines day and found one )
-Fine American Blend Aftershave (also ordered a sample of Fine Platinum)
-Lord Super Stainless Blades
-Astra SP Blades
-Personna Red Israeli Blades
-Omega Hi-Brush Synthetic (0146745)
-Aqua Velva Aftershave
-Black Ceramic Shave Mug
-Nivea Senitive shave balm
-Nivea Sensitive shave balm with cooling
-Nivea Sensitive shave cream
-Clubman Styptic stick
-Everyman Jack cooling Mint aftershave balm/lotion

SO, i was ready to go! Once my order came in i was like a kid at Christmas and i couldnt wait to shave. I chose a personna red as my first blade and had about 3 days worth of growth on my face (I have a thick, heavy irish/italian beard) and then got to it. With my first shave I really took my time! I didnt go against the grain at all and with my beard that meant a less than perfect shave, but i was ok with that as i knew it would improve greatly with practice. My next shave, I kept the same blade and shaved the very next day. This time, the shave was much better and closer! Then, 2 days later I chose a Lord super stainless and i was really impressed! My face felt so smooth and I had zero nicks! I used that same blade 2 more times and loved both shaves equally!