What's new

Considering going to a straight

New member and 1st post, so thanks in advance for the advice and answers. Some quick background, I have about 2 years of DE shaving under my belt with a Merkur 37C (slant bar) and feather blades--my preferred for some time now after trying many brands of blades. Both are considered aggressive, but I get great results. I have a heavy beard, and shave 5-6 days per week. I've got my technique and prep down, and, like many here (I suspect) I own a few other razors (but I rarely use them now, I like the slant bar), many creams and soaps, and after shaves. I've been growing my beard out now for 2 months now (first time ever) but plan to get rid of that by May. It's keeping my face warm during this cold Chicago winter.

Compared to my pre-DE shaving days, where shaving was just a chore that had to be done, I enjoy shaving and wake up earlier just to go through my routine. (I'm still shaving my neck and cheeklines with the beard, but do miss shaving my entire face). Suffice to say I enjoy the process, and am intrigued by possibly going to a straight.

So, considering going to a straight razor, but will the results really be that much better, once beyond the learning curve stage? I know that no one can definitely answer that question, just looking for opinions of others who were once in the same place. How was your experience?

Thanks again all!

My normal DE shave was a two pass ATG and an ATG with an ATT R2 open comb. Now at 90 some shaves into a straight, I can exceed anything I ever got from a DE, and have been for a while. However, I have incorporated an additional XTG pass in between, and I do a cleanup with lather on the neck/\law line. So not really an apples to apples comparison.