What's new

Does it really matter ?

I'm a newbie, so forgive my question if it's foolish.

Does it really matter what "scent" soap or cream we use , if we are going to use an aftershave or cologne anyways ?

Or does the "scent" just get covered up once the AS or cologne is put on ?

No. It's just nice to use stuff that smells good, especially when it's stuff we're slathering on our face.

Most soap/cream scents don't last much beyond the shave in my experience. That being said, I love variety. Sometimes, I just have to have a classic like Tabac. Other times, only English Fern will do. Next might be Arko (controversial I know, but this might be the best soap of all time and certainly is the best performance per dollar in my opinion). The shaving world is full of really great stuff. Unfortunately, I won't live long enough to try them all, but by God I am going to try as many as I can.

You're correct. Once the shave is over the soap or cream's scent is lost very quickly. The enjoyment of scented soap/cream is DURING the shave is all. After that the Aqua Velva takes the stage :lol:

Most soap/cream scents don't last much beyond the shave in my experience. That being said, I love variety. Sometimes, I just have to have a classic like Tabac. Other times, only English Fern will do. Next might be Arko (controversial I know, but this might be the best soap of all time and certainly is the best performance per dollar in my opinion). The shaving world is full of really great stuff. Unfortunately, I won't live long enough to try them all, but by God I am going to try as many as I can.

Arko is my go-to every day. No other soap lathers as easily yet costs so little, lol

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member