What's new

Davinci Shaving Brush (not THAT Da Vinci) What's your worstest brush? This is mine.

Hi guys! This'll be my first brush review on B&B. I hope you enjoy!

I'm relatively new to wet-shaving. A little over a week ago I posted my first little story in the Check-In section and was really happy with all the warm welcomes I got to the forum :001_smile I've been shaving pretty well with my Weishi and some different blades with minimal cuts, and every time I do shave it takes a little less time, too. I really like the Proraso shave soaps smell and ease of lather, but at over sixteen dollars a tub, it's not a really cost-effective long term shaving soap for me. (Look at that newb Jonsta, still talking about cost-effectiveness...)

I went to the local Woolies from where I acquired my Wilkinson Sword blades—which are certainly not my favourite—in order to get some other soaps and creams to try. I picked up a Palmolive Shave Stick and some Faulders Shave Cream, but since this is a brush subforum, I'll get right to the point:

proxy.php

THIS is the Davinci Shaving Brush. She's a...beauuuuty... isn't she. Six dollars for a shaving brush? Why not?

The first gripe I had with it is the packaging. It fits great into the tube, but the rim of the top is rolled inward, meaning that the brush didn't come out of the packaging. If you did manage to pull it out, all of the outside bristles would be bent backwards which would screw up the brush pretty bad :mad3:. I cut the tube down the side to avoid that.

The brush claims to be part synthetic and part animal (horse) hair. Horse hair is supposed to be softer than boar hair, right? This thing feels like a bloody toilet brush! The faux dye job on the bristles is absolutely hilarious, as well:

proxy.php

The handle is made of a hard plastic. It's quite durable (threw it against the bathroom wall a few times) but it has very little weight compared to my other two brushes (so I couldn't even throw it that hard :laugh:).