What's new

Moving to Chicago! Any info?

Hey folks! Never posted in this section before....My lady and I are re-locating to Chicago, and I'm curious if anybody out there has any beta/advice for getting settled/enjoying myself in the windy city. We're mid-twenty somethings, coming from Truckee, California (Lake Tahoe)...Both are heavy into outdoor-related activities, most of which are gravity-fed (skiing, mountain biking, whitewater kayaking), which we know we're going to be giving up somewhat in making the move, but I suppose that's to give you an idea of our lifestyle. She has a museum collections job lined up, and I'm a cook/chef by trade.

So I guess a few questions: could anybody advise us on neighborhoods we should be looking to move to? I supposed we're shooting for a youngerish, eclectic place with decent bikeability. Any recommendations on favorite/beloved restaurants? I'll be hitting the ground running with my resume, and it's easy enough to find what are the 'top-rated' and well-documented places, but if there are any that you're particularly fond of (definitely prefer to work in fine dining). Next: anything else you could recommend, like information you wish you had known before you moved there, your favorite place for hotdogs/pizza, your favorite park, etc? Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks!

One thing I will say, be sure to have plenty of warm clothes. It gets COLD! I was only in Chicago for about a year so I don't know a whole lot about it. If you like real spicy food, can't go wrong with Uncle Joe's Jerk! Lou Mainati's has good pizza. There is Millenium Park which offers a variety of things to do at different times. Navy Pier is also a go to place with lots to do. http://navypier.com/ That's all I can really think of for now. I'm sure someone that's been there for a long time can offer better suggestions.