What's new

Never finished a pen

I can't ever remember a time that I've actually finished an ink cartridge. My pens always stop writing or dry up or go bad relatively soon. I recently made the switch from ball points to rollerballs and while the rollerball style pen is smoother, they still develop sticky spots, or quit writing after some time.

I just got a three pack of Pilot Precise V7 rollerballs, and they seem to fly back and forth from dry to okay. It's irritating to not have any consistency, are more expensive pens more reliable? It seems like everything I've had has quit writing after a while.

Welcome to the NIB. I am still quite new to fountain pens, but all of the ones I have never had any issues with drying up. I haven't use a roller ball or ball-point pens in quite some time, but you can easily find a good, inexpensive fountain pen that won't exhibit this characteristic, in general.
The Pilot Metropolitan and the Pilot 78g are inexpensive and fine writer as an introductory FP. Try one or two out to see how you like them and if this resolves your issue!
Good luck. :thumbup:

For work travel I use Pilot G2 Pro pens. You can buy replacement ink carts and I have went through several carts with no issues. The G2 Pros are getting harder to find ( ordering from Amazon or Jet Pens is an option). Regular pilot G2 are still plentiful in stores and use same ink.

I have used a Pilot Dr. Grip pen for many years and have used up full cartridges in it. That is the only ballpoint pen I have been able to do that with. The other brands that I have tried typically dry out.

I'm just getting started with fountain pens and am loving it. The two pens listed by Celestino are good pens and don't have skipping or drying issues. Also, if you can find a Reform 1745 fountain pen, that's another great option. They are no longer made new, but they show up on different places for a decent price.

Welcome to the nib!