What's new

Unable to shave with safety razor *embarrassed*

Hi Everyone,

What a great forum you have here! Hopefully someone can help me with my issue.

For ever I've struggled with skin irritation after shavings - bumps, rash, tons of ingrowns. When I heard about safety razors, I was excited to give them a shot (had been using a Gillette Mach 3).

However, when iI tried to shave with it tonight it was almost like there wasn't a blade in there (there was!). I started off with very little pressure at about a 30degree using short strokes. But, it barely removed any hair - even after 5 or 6 passes in the same spot it was like I haven't even shaved. I started playing with the angle and using more pressure, but it just was not cutting (almost at all).

I do have somewhat thick hair and I had a couple days growth, but it was not anything like a beard.

I hope I'm not doing anything embarrassingly stupid with loading the blade? I'm using the derby blades that it came with - I know they aren't aggressive, but this was liken not even shaving. BTW, I'm not looking for baby bottom, I don't at all mind a not close shave - my big goal is to reduce my ingrowns.

Thanks for advice!!

Here's my setup:

proxy.php

Nothing to be embarrassed about, cause many have done the exact same thing, but it looks like your base plate is on upside down.

Nothing to be embarrassed about, cause many have done the exact same thing, but it looks like your base plate is on upside down.

wow. Thanks so much!!! I knew it was something embarrassing. My wife is laughing at my right now. Again thanks!

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member
Don't beat yourself up about it. :tongue_sm

"He who would learn to fly one day must first learn to stand and walk and run and climb and dance; one cannot fly into flying."

That's a real safety razor! lol

Somehow I still got a little hair off, but I was thinking "what the heck" I though I needed to be careful with this thing. Can't wait to try it the correct way!