What's new

DE blade preference?

So a few months ago I ordered a DE blade sampler. From where is not important. But I just had to have the bloodiest shave of my life. So in an attempt to save my face. What blades have you found to be the absolute worst? When I get back home from work I will post wat blades they are, I'm at work at the moment. I would also like to point out that I've been using DE's for 18 years now. Just wanted to find some other blades. Found 1 I like better so far. And one that's way. Way worse.

Last edited:
Worst would be Dorco and Lord I think. Best, Israel Personna followed by Indian Gillette Swords. Though, before the weeks out I'll have an order of Nacet's, hoping they'll beat Personna yet. Good luck in the search, enjoy the road! :thumbup1:

I have tried sampler packs from Fendrihans, and added to the list:
Astra green
Lord Stainless Steel
Personna Lab Blue
Lord Platinum
Feather
Astra blue
Gillette 7-O'Clock green
Wilkinson Sword
Gillette 7-O'Clock yellow
(I think I got them all)

Of these my regular blades are the Derby, Gillette Green, and Lord Platinum for the best steady shaves.
The Feathers are very sharp, and I use them occasionally
The poorest blade has been the green Astra.

I will keep trying out blades, but they are very much the proverbial YMMV

I didn't like the Chrona, Wilkinson Sword, the Green Gillette 7 O'Clock, and can't stand the Derby, I like the Israeli Persona Reds, the Gillette 7 O'Clock Yellow, but my daily blade is the Personna Blue, a-k-a the Lab, even though now the blades are in plain white wrappers. I find it has the right mix of sharpness and smoothness, and works well in my three razor rotation of a 47 Superspeed, 52 black handle Tech, and Schick Krona.

Worst for me has to be Derby and Bic Chrome Platinum. But as was already mentioned YMMV. Someone already said they dislike Astra's and they are one of my top 3.