What's new

Wet shaving for a week, struggling with severe irritation/cuts

Hello everyone, and I apologize if this is the millionth new thread about this topic, but I just started wet shaving a week ago today, and I've been having some trouble with irritation and cuts, especially on my neck and chin. I am a sophomore at Mount St. Mary's University in Emmitsburg, MD, and wanted to start shaving with a real blade because of the immense cut in costs and the baby-butt smooth shave it supposedly gives. I purchased a Merkur 34C heavy-duty razor, some Astra blades (some Feathers are on their way too, but they are coming from Taiwan so it will be a while), a puck of Van Der Hagen soap, and a Parker synthetic brush. I have followed numerous threads all over the Internet about technique and proper lathering, etc. so gave it a try with the sample Merkur blade that came with the razor. I did exactly as the Internet told me and didn't apply any pressure and made a conscious effort to keep the razor at a 35-45 degree angle. I did three passes, one going up from the bottom of my neck to my cheek, one vice-versa, and one horizontally from below my ear to my nose. I got an amazingly smooth shave, light-years closer than I ever received from the Gillette and Dollar Shave Club junk I used previously. It was so smooth that my girlfriend touched my face before I remembered to tell her I had switched to traditional wetshaving, and not even knowing this, she said "wow, your face is smoother than mine!" However, I still suffer from nicks, cuts, and inflammation all across my neck. A little baby oil helps with the pain and some of the redness, but it's still a pain in the neck (pun totally intended) because I follow the directions I can find, and I'm still getting a great shave, but it tears up my neck. The Astra blades haven't been any better than the Merkur sample, which leads me to believe that it's something I'm doing wrong, not the blades themselves. I'll be happy to describe my entir