What's new

First straight buying advice

Gents,

I've been shaving with a DE safety for the last 5 years. It's my second favorite part of the day. I do have a really sensitive face. (Or my technique/depth is bad) :) Looks like a war zone if I shave every day (even sometimes every other). So, I shave 2-3 times per week and it's good.

I want to venture into my first straight razor. Been doing some research, here's where I think I'm at: fully hollow, 5/8, rounded tip. I'd rather not buy in and 'grow out' of a razor, so I'm looking to buy a really nice beginner razor to start. Any thoughts so far, brands, etc? Also, interested in thoughts on hone/strop as well? Anything to consider there given my plans?

Thanks!

Bearing in mind your desire not to "grow out" of your first straight razor, I'd say ignore the typical consensus of getting a Gold Dollar razor. It's usually recommended as a good starting point, but my opinion is that it's not something most people would keep around after becoming somewhat skilled. Other people's opinions may vary.

That said, you can get a nice Dovo Best quality professionally honed at the Superior Shave for under $100. It's a good blade that you'll have no problem keeping around. As far as a strop goes, it's a different mindset. You'll almost certainly nick/cut/slice or otherwise destroy your first strop in short order, so I'd recommend a cheap one. Seems like the Whipped Dog Poor Man's strop is a consensus pick for a first strop.

For what it's worth. A Gold Dollar, properly honed, is every bit as capable a razor as an entry level Dovo. Or any other razor for that matter. Some razors come with a higher degree of refinement, but usually at a higher price point as well.

You likely will never outgrow ANY razor. What will happen is this: you will find out whether you like shaving with a straight razor. If you do not, then it stops with that one razor.