What's new

Pre-shave oil/cream, do you use it?

Hey B&B. I'm new to wet shaving and love it. I'm curious about what some people use in their daily shave routine mainly pre-shave creme/oils. Do you use any if so, what would you recommend? If not, why?
Another thing about pre-shaves I'm curious about does it matter what type of medium you use during the shave? Like for instance I use B.O. Bigelow original shave creme, will a certain pre-shave have a positive or negative affect with my creme?

I have used Art Of Shaving preshave oil, I didn't like the mold growing inside, and it was too thick. I now make my own, as do many others here. Here is a basic recipe. You can add whatever scent you like.

75% Castor Oil
25% Olive Oil
Essential Oil to your liking.

This oil helps soften the skin, and provide a smoother shave. It also hydrates the skin afterwards, lessens irritation and ingrown hairs. Win, win, all around.

No. I tried it, didn't seem to make any difference, so I stopped. One less step to take in the morning.

I have used Art Of Shaving preshave oil, I didn't like the mold growing inside, and it was too thick. I now make my own, as do many others here. Here is a basic recipe. You can add whatever scent you like.

75% Castor Oil
25% Olive Oil
Essential Oil to your liking.

This oil helps soften the skin, and provide a smoother shave. It also hydrates the skin afterwards, lessens irritation and ingrown hairs. Win, win, all around.
Love it!

my wife makes some for me and I use it right now to keep my beard soft...I'll see if there are any benefits after my first DE shave on Christmas Day...these are the oils she uses - vitamin e, almond oil, peppermint oil, jojoba oil, avocado oil, argan oil, and rosehip oil...

The main reasons I use homemade preshave oils, for me, are: in benefits order:
1. Stops irritation.
2. Greatly reduces ingrown hair on the neck.
3. Helps the razor glide.
4. Hydrates my skin. I have naturally dry skin.