What's new

Nibbers, recommend my next FP!

I'm still pretty new to fountain pens, but am looking to pick up a new go-to FP.

To this point, I've used a Lamy Safari (medium nib), and my daily driver at the moment, an older Parker Frontier (medium nib) loaded with blue-black Quink.

I like the feel of the Parker nib more than the Lamy, for two reasons. It seems smoother (is that a thing?), and seems to write slightly wider than the Lamy.

Now, my criteria/desires:

- Don't want too fine a point. I print more than anything, and have poor penmanship, so a fine point seems to make it look even worse. The Parker medium seems about right.
- I write small bits frequently, and am rough-ish on my pens. My last BP was a stainless steel Cross Century that I used daily for about four years. It's still in great working order, and on my desk. I often pick up my pen, scribble down some digits (accountant), and quickly drop it on my desk again, often not replacing the cap, since I'll be picking it up again in thirty seconds or so to scribble more digits.
- As a result of the above, I'm thinking I'd like something metal and up to the mild abuse I can put a pen through.
- Under $100, ideally, under $50-60.
- Ease of refilling is important, but not crucial.
- Something understated/classic in appearance would be preferred. Nothing too flashy, nothing colorful, etc. Black/dark brown/silver/etc ideally.

Suggestions?

get a used lamy 2000 w/ medium nib. you should be able to find one for less than $100 (buy probably closer to $100 than $50)

I'd say look for a Parker 51 because you could find one of those for under $100, but most all of them have Fine or Extra Fine nibs. If you do find a medium nibbed 51, then that would be a good choice. The only problem with finding a medium 51 is that 51's don't really have there nib sized marked on them anywhere, so unless you are trying out the pen in person, you wont really know what the nib size is for sure (it would just be the seller's guess)