What's new

Need help with buying Tablet and Kindle

Space_Cadet

I don't have a funny description.
Hello, fellow B&B members.

I need some good advice on acquiring a Tablet and a Kindle.

I have accumulated a whole lot of books and articles on my home PC. Now came the time when I can no longer postpone things and have to read up on all this material.

It became very clear to me that a HUGE part of me having trouble to consistently read any substantial amount of material is the extreme UNCOMFORT of being bent up for hours in front of my PC. It's just killing my eyes, back, neck, etc'. It's a torture!

So the most obvious thing to do is to buy a Tablet or a Kindle. But I think I will have a use for both. A Kindle for just reading books, and a Tablet to also surf the net, listen to music, watch movies, use some programs on a big enough screen to enjoy it.

This is where I need your advice, as a complete newbie in this.

I am not a technology freak and don't keep with the latest and the bestest. But I also DON'T like cheap and appreciate quality. I need something decent, respectable, solid, with good reviews and no major flaws, and also a product that will hold its own and won't become a joke in a year or two. I don't switch to newer gadgets weekly/monthly.

Perhaps a few basic things to mention - I want a good quality screen for my poor eyes. And not too small. Decent battery life. Decent storage volume. Stable. Uh... don't know what else.

Sorry for being such a newb, any help would be appreciated.

It all depends. What's your budget? You described the intended use, but do you foresee using it for something else as well (ie games)?
Also, do you really need two devices? I haven't done much research, but I believe a tablet could take the role of the Kindle for reading. Any semi decent tablet can easily multitask ie read a document and listen to music. Also, do you have a really strong preference towards a brand?