What's new

Razor with black head.

I'm new at all this but am having a good time reading, learning and of course-shopping for razors and razor accessories. :biggrin1: So while trying to check out all the many different razors I saw one with a black coated head on it and kind of like the look but was wondering why they didn't coat the handle too. I own a small gun coating business, we coat peoples guns in a ceramic coating(Cerakote) so I thought "hey, I'm going to coat my razor" so I did a test run on my Merkur 34C HD and here's how it turned out.

$IMG_1389.jpg$IMG_1383.jpg

I gave her a try and the first shave was nice and slick/smooth!!

Looks great!

It will be interesting to hear how the coating keep at the area around the twist knob at the base.

Thank you for the kind words. I'm pretty sure the coating will last a longggg time, it's ceramic so it's very hard and very slick, not like an epoxy type paint at all. We use it to coat firearms and it holds up VERY well to abuse, can't imagine I'd be putting a razor through anything even close to that. A year ago I coated the exhaust on my car and it still looks like the day I coated them, brand new. My wife is giving me a hard time because I Cerakote everything around the house and now I've coated my razor, she thinks I'm nuts! ha ha.

I have a set of headers that would look wonderful on :)

My only question would be if the thickness of the coating would throw of the razor tolerances at all. I know you said it shaves just fine, but the coating is only millimeters thick, base plate and top cap, and the blade stays the same thickness. It would be neat to know, if even irrelevant, how the coating changes the geometry of the head. Hard to measure at our current hobbiest level.

Looks like a keeper.