What's new

New guy to wet shaving and the forum

Hey all,
I am brand new to the wet shaving world and so far I am liking the looks of things. My introduction to wet shaving began initially when I discovered my grandfathers George Wosteholm & Son No. 149 Pipe Razor. I touched it up and put it away and didn't think much of it or do any research about the company. Frankly I thought it had to do with cleaning out a pipe since tip had a bit of an curve and my grandfather was a pipe smoker. Recently one of my friends decided he was going to learn how to shave with a straight razor, he went the cheap route and bought a Sweeney Todd razor. Somehow he managed to shave once or twice without too much discomfort with that oversized and overly heavy razor(how I don't know, that blade was the farthest thing from smooth and polished, it was like a saw and just sharp enough to pop hairs).

I liked the idea of getting rid of my expensive cartridge razors that weren't giving me a great shave to begin with so I decided take the plunge into wet shaving. I went into research mode and tried to find out about what good quality gear is involved in shaving with a straight razor so as to not follow my buddies footsteps. This amazing forum strangely dedicated to wet shaving kept showing up in my google searches and I have found myself coming back here for quality info on wet shaving.

I am already a knife guy and own a ever growing collection of knives. When I found the wonderful world of straight razors I knew I was sunk, I am seeing the early stages of RAD setting in. I have already acquired a second vintage German straight razor from my local antique shop and have polished and restored it to start off shaving with, I can tell this is only the beginning.
I have since acquired a finest badger brush and a sample of Castle Forbes lime and made myself a basic strop for me to shred to pieces.