What's new

How many types of soaps/creams do you really need?

I am new to the world of wet shaving having only been doing it for a week and a half. However, I see a lot of discussion here about a lot of soaps or creams. It is mind boggling :blink:!

So my one and only shaving soap/cream is Taylor's sandalwood shaving cream. I really really like it. But it seems like there are so many other options out there I would not know where to began to try something new. I would like to stay in the cream arena for the moment. With that in mind what do you suggest going forward. I like the sandalwood smell and more "wood" smell but am not opposed to trying a sweeter fragrance. I was thinking about getting Taylor's peppermint based on the review here for a nice Christmas smell.

So after all that other than suggestions, how many soap/creams do most of you have at one time? Do you switch randomly or stick to a type until gone?

Most soaps last a pretty long time, and new products come up or old ones get brought to your attention that you want to try; so you buy them. So you go from having one product that gets used every day to a few getting used frequently to a lot getting used rarely. It's not so much that you NEED multiple; it's just that products tend to take longer and longer to be used up the more you buy, so the fact of having more compounds itself and eventually you get to the point where finishing a product is extremely rare, and finding a new product to try is not.

I started with TOBS sandalwood cream...actually the entire sandalwood line up! Still use it for special outings. But for everyday shaves, I use Cella from the kilo and the clubman line up. I can't see spending a lot on something I rinse down the drain. Kinda like a 50 dollar roll of toilet paper :bored:
The scent of exspencive soaps is great while shaving but it just gets rinsed off and your AS and colonge is where it comes from long term.