What's new

Six months in - Some thoughts/advice.

So, I've been shaving with a safety razor for a couple of years and decided to have a crack with a straight. I bought the following;

Fendrihan Acanthus Limited Edition Dovo Straight Razor 6/8", Grenadille Wood Handle
$DOV66810_Dovo_Fendrihan_68_Acanthus_straight_razor.jpg$petit francais.jpg
Thiers Issard "Petit Francais"

I sent them all off for sharpening at the classic edge who did a great job, watched a few videos online and dived in for my first shave. The end result was I looked like I had fallen head first into the lawnmower. I was disappointed and gave myself a bit of a fright to be honest.
Back to the drawing board. I took the few positives from my first shave, the flat planes on the left side of my face (I'm a southpaw) and concentrated on that next time, better. With baby steps I got the left side down pretty much pat but was still struggling with the right, under the chin and under the nose. I persevered and now I'm almost there.
Things I learnt.
  • It is a challenge at first, I nearly gave up but stuck with it precisely because it is difficult and I wanted to master it. I get an amazing shave with my DE razor and nearly bailed on my straight razor a few times.
  • I do one quick pass with my DE razor first. This way I'm focussed on technique rather than the quality of the shave.
  • I found the YT videos helpful but there are times when you need to do what works for you. For me, I use my left hand on parts of the right side of my face, I'm happier with that and it works so that's what I stick with. A purist probably wouldn't like it but hey, it's my face.
  • If I'm tired or hungover (hey, it happens) then I don't do it, I want my hand to be steady.
  • I don't shave every day, I'm up at 5.20am so I use my DE most week days but save my straight shaving for the weekend, at the moment, that will change as I gain confidence.