What's new

Ingredients?

First off, a disclaimer: I am a recovering engineer, so I tend to be a little overANALytical. But then again, this is B&B...so maybe that's not viewed as a bad thing. So...please bear with me...

I'm pondering adding a new soap (yes, just one, dammit!) to my arsenal, and I'm factoring in reviews, skin sensitivity, and ingredients.

My opinion is that my skin is a bit sensitive, and shaving, as zen-like and pleasurable as it is, does cause some trauma to the skin. So, I'd like to minimize the "chemistry set" nature of what I slather on my face. I'm careful about soaps to wash with and AS balms, etc. So...onto the new soap.

One of the candidates is Proraso Red. Here is the published list of ingredients:

• Aqua (water)
  • Stearic Acid
  • cocos nucifera (coconut) Oil
  • Potassium Hydroxide
  • Glycerin
  • Sodium Hydroxide
  • Lactic Acid
  • Parfum (fragrance)
  • butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter
  • Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter
  • Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate
  • Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate
  • Tetrasodium EDTA
  • Hydroxyethlcellulose
  • citronellol
  • Geraniol
  • Limonene
  • Linalool
  • Coumarin
  • Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate
  • Santalum album (Sandalwood) Oil

Good grief! The ones in RED seem like things I don't want to work into my skin with a steel blade!

By contrast, here are the ingredients in Henry Cavendish Himalayan Shaving Soap:

• Glycerin
  • Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil
  • Sodium Castorate (Castor) Oil
  • Sodium Hydroxide
  • Purified Water
  • Carthamus Tinctorius (Hybrid Safflower) Seed Oil
  • Sorbitol (Moisturizer)
  • Shea Butter
  • Soy
  • Himalaya Fragrance (a blend of exotic woods: Indian cedar, Himalayan blue pine, cashmere musk and Indian amber

Here's the ingredient list for Bebelush Barbershop Shave Soap with Shea, Mango and Cocoa Butter :
  • Sodium Cocoate
  • Propylene Glycol
  • Sodium Stearate
  • Glycerin
  • Water
  • Sorbitol