What's new

The harvesting of hairs from Badgers, Horses and Boars to make shaving brushes

I'm new to brushes and was wondering how brush hairs are harvested from Badgers, Horses and Boars. I was doing some reading and learned that the badger hairs are taken from the "Asian Badger". I was wondering if anyone knew a little more information about this "Asian Badger"? Where exactly do they live in Asia, for example? Which species or sub-species of badger are we talking about here? This then led me to wonder where all the hairs are primarily coming from to supply brushes for horse and boar hair brushes? Are these also coming from "Asia" or further west? Just exactly what kind of horses and boars are hairs being harvested from?
Thank you

Welcome to the world of shaving brushes!
Badger and Boar: by-product of animal farming
Horse: taken from mane and/ or tail. Animal is not harmed.
In this case, GIYF. Search for 'badger' and append 'badger and blade'

There are synthetic brushes which are an alternative to animal products. I believe horse hair is taken from the mane and tail of the horse.

mswofford

Rest in Peace
Vie-Long horse hair brushes (Bull Goose Shaving) are made in Spain; They seem to be the largest producer of quality horse hair brushes.
Almost all (if not all) badger hair comes from China, no matter where the brushes are made.
Boar (pig) bristle hair brushes apparently come from widely available sources.

Vie-Long horse hair brushes (Bull Goose Shaving) are made in Spain; They seem to be the largest producer of quality horse hair brushes.
Almost all (if not all) badger hair comes from China, no matter where the brushes are made.
Boar (pig) bristle hair brushes apparently come from widely available sources.

+1