What's new

Cleaning a stainless steel carafe

Hello,

I have a Technivorm Moccamaster KBT-741 and cannot get the stale coffee smell out of the carafe. I can get it so it looks quite clean on the inside but there is always the slight smell of stale coffee. Any hints on how to get this really clean?

I have tried soaking it in water with the following additives:

• Baking soda
  • Dishwasher soap: liquid, powdered and pods
  • False teeth cleaner

Need some help here! :001_smile

Had a similar experience with a camping percolator that was put away for a few years without having been properly washed out beforehand.

A hot soak with Oxiclean laundry powder worked the best. Don't know if it is a recommended usage or not, but we've used it on numerous stainless and aluminum pots with seemingly no ill effects.

Alacrity59

Wanting for wisdom
Chlorine bleach . . .. It melts off the problem and rinses off quickly. Maybe an oz and fill with water and leave for an hour. . . .

I have used a mixture of white vinegar and water (half and half) to clean my brewer, followed by a few brews of plain water to flush out any vinegar residue left behind.

I have also used a commercial product called BrewRite, which comes as a powder to dissolve in water. They may have updated the jar, but mine looks like this:
proxy.php

Both methods remove the coffee stains and odors.

+1 to Oxiclean. Great stuff for cleaning around the house and kitchen. Great on metals and glass.

Small note- don't use on non-stick pans like Teflon or Caphalon. Ask me how I know. :|

You shouldn't use bleach on stainless. It will eventually pit it. I use unscented oxiclean on my homebrewing/beer equipment. There is a product called PBW for professional breweries to clean their stainless equipment. Its main ingredient is sodium percarbonate. Thats also the main ingredient of oxiclean.

I Googled bleach vs. stainless steel and sure enough there are lots of warnings about that!