What's new

Some new brushes

I've been working on some varying approaches to turning brush handles over the past few months. I am a long time woodworker (almost 40 years) with a good but of turning experience, so my preference is for wood handles. The problem with wood is the durability and finish. I have come to the conclusion that resin stabilizing the wood, then finishing with something durable is the preferred solution. So, I now have a vacuum chamber, pump, and heat activated urethane resin that I use to infuse the wood blanks before turning. Here are a few examples of the latest efforts. I also coat the knot socket with epoxy before inserting the knots. The brushes shown only have the knots dry fitted with either TGN Super Badger, TGN Silvertip, or Virginia Sheng Silvertip.

This one is bubinga and wenge.

$P1290679_0507.jpg

Cherry burl and wenge

$P1290683_0511.jpg

Red palm and wenge

$P1290671_0499.jpg

Wenge and holly

$P1290903_0672.jpg

The finish on all of these brushes is 10 coats of CA, sanded to 12,000 grit with Micro Mesh, then buffed on a buffing wheel with plastic buffing compound.

Thanks for taking a look,

Matt

Thanks for all of the kind comments, gents. I have a couple that I have not photographed yet, so once I have, I will post those photos. I will probably put a few up for sale in a week or so, as I just sold a few razors last weekend on the B/S/T, and so I can't sell anything quite yet. I am looking at the possibility of Hobbyist/Vendor status, but that process and designation is currently being reviewed by the B&B Board as I understand it, so I can't move on that right now. Again, I appreciate the encouragement.

Matt

Very nice work. I like that you have used 3-band knots rather than 2-band, there's something about the softer 3-band colouring that goes so well with the amazing wood material & finish.