What's new

Billiard Culture

Thought I'd start this up, as I love all kinds of billiards and the artifacts and purported lifestyles that accompany it. Beautifully inlaid and true cues, a dimly lit room with the majority of light directly above a lovely mahogany table with green cloth and the perfect "click" of ball on ball.

9 ball, 8 ball, straight pool, rotation, snooker, you name it.

Anyone else share this love?

I've been playing fairly regularly for three years, and am nearly ready to start entering tournies at local pool halls. I play with a Predator Sneaky Pete with a 314 second generation pro taper and a Cuetec 19oz combination jump/break.

Any pool discussion goes, ferroules, varieties of tips (moori, phenolic, elkmaster etc), anything!

Looking forward to your replies! :smile:

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
If you really want to improve your game, play three cushion billiards on the big wacky tables without pockets. Controlling where the cue ball goes (and especially where it stops) after it strikes the object ball is the most important skill to learn, and billiards teaches that better than anything else.

Watching good players shoot pool is boring- they hardly ever have to take a hard shot because they know just where (and how) to land the cue ball.

Watching good players shoot pool is boring- they hardly ever have to take a hard shot because they know just where (and how) to land the cue ball.

I agree with that but the first few times you see it, it is really interesting to watch how they are able to get the ball to go where they want it. What I really like seeing though are the trick shot competitions on espn, those are cool.

Pool is something I really love, but at which I truly suck. I did take a couple of professional lessons, and they were well worth the time and money. The physics of where you strike the cue ball to get it to stop, follow, back up, etc, and to what degree, is really fun to learn. There's just something about that "clack!"